Morning Sanctuary

Home / Electrical requirements

Guide · Electrical

What electrical does a sauna need?

Print-style illustration of a carpenter's workbench with stacked cedar boards, a mallet, a hand plane, wood shavings and a coil of cable, a half-paneled sauna wall behind.AI-generated illustration
Short answer · sauna electrical requirements

An electric sauna heater needs its own 240 V circuit from a licensed electrician, drawing about 4.17 A per kW: 25 A for a 6 kW heater, 37.5 A for 9 kW. The code sizes the breaker and wire at 125% of that, and makers list their own specs, which don’t always match. Plug-in infrared saunas usually need a dedicated 120 V, 15–20 A circuit.

Checked Sep 23, 2026 · how we check

Breaker and wire by heater, from each manual

Amps = watts ÷ volts

4.17amps per kW at 240 V

  • 4.5 kW18.75 A
  • 6 kW25 A
  • 8 kW33.3 A
  • 9 kW37.5 A
HeaterkWAmps at 240 VMaker’s breaker125% minimumMaker’s wireSource
HUUM Drop 4.54.518.7530 A25 A10 AWG[HUUM Drop US manual]
Amerec Designer B 4.54.518.8not stated25 A10-2[Amerec Designer B manual]
Saunum Air 54.82030 A25 Anot stated[Saunum manual]
HUUM Drop 662530 A35 A10 AWG[HUUM Drop US manual]
Harvia Spirit 6625not stated35 A10 AWG[Harvia Spirit manual]
Amerec Designer B 6625not stated35 A10-2[Amerec Designer B manual]
Saunum Air 76.426.6740 A35 Anot stated[Saunum manual]
Finnleo Himalaya SL2 6.86.828.3not stated40 A#8[Finnleo Himalaya manual]
HUUM Drop 7.57.531.2540 A40 A8 AWG[HUUM Drop US manual]
Harvia Spirit 8833.3not stated45 A8 AWG[Harvia Spirit manual]
Amerec Designer B 8833.3not stated45 A8-2[Amerec Designer B manual]
HUUM Drop 9937.550 A50 A8 AWG[HUUM Drop US manual]
Finnleo Himalaya SL2 9.0937.5not stated50 A#6[Finnleo Himalaya manual]
Saunum Air 109.64050 A50 Anot stated[Saunum manual]

“125% minimum” is the smallest standard breaker at 125% of the current. Checked Sep 23, 2026. Not electrical advice; a licensed electrician sizes your circuit.

From the makers’ manuals and the code

Does a sauna need a dedicated circuit?

Yes. Electric heaters get their own 240 V circuit, installed by a licensed electrician, and no receptacles are allowed inside the hot room [Harvia Spirit manual]. Plug-in infrared saunas often still need a dedicated 120 V circuit: Sunlighten’s mPulse Aspire calls for a dedicated 20 A circuit and a NEMA 5-20 outlet, with no extension cords [Sunlighten mPulse Aspire spec sheet]. Clearlight’s larger cabins run on 240 V, 15–20 A [Clearlight electrical requirements].

How many amps does a sauna heater draw?

About 4.17 A per kW at 240 V (amps = watts ÷ volts). 4.5 kW ≈ 18.75 A, 6 kW = 25 A, 8 kW ≈ 33.3 A, 9 kW = 37.5 A.

What does the 125% rule mean for a sauna breaker?

The National Electrical Code treats fixed space heating as a continuous load (424.3(B)), so wire and breaker must carry 125% of the heater’s current (210.19(A)(1), 210.20(A)) [NEC continuous-load sizing (EC&M)]. Some manuals specify less: HUUM lists a 30 A breaker for its 25 A Drop 6, while 125% of 25 A is 31.25 A. When they differ, your electrician or inspector decides.

Do outdoor saunas need a GFCI?

Possibly. Recent electrical codes widen GFCI protection outdoors; the 2026 NEC reportedly covers circuits up to 60 A, including accessory buildings [Mike Holt forum: outdoor sauna on GFCI (secondary)]. Finnleo, HUUM and Saunum advise against GFCIs on their heaters because they nuisance-trip [Finnleo Himalaya manual]. The inspector decides.

What wire should a sauna heater use?

Copper rated at least 90 °C (194 °F) [Harvia Spirit manual]. Manuals list 10 AWG for most 4.5–6 kW heaters and 8 AWG (Finnleo: #6 for 9 kW) for bigger ones. See the table.

The Sanctuary Report

Sauna and cold-plunge price drops, plus one buying lesson. Every seller we list, checked.

Twice a month. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy · Terms