Home / Harvia vs HUUM vs Saunum
Heaters compared from their manuals
Harvia vs HUUM vs Saunum heaters
All three make 240 V heaters for home saunas. In their manuals, HUUM’s Drop covers the widest range (4.5–9 kW, 106–460 ft³), Harvia’s Spirit comes in 6 and 8 kW, and Saunum’s Air adds its air-mixing design at about 4.8–9.6 kW. Breaker specs differ between brands at the same size, and so do the safety listings they cite.
Checked Sep 23, 2026 · how we check
AI-generated illustrationNo. 1Specs from each manual
Same size, different breaker.
Every figure here is copied from the maker’s own manual. Where a manual is silent, the table says so.
Harvia
- Sizes
- 6–8 kW
- Rooms
- 177–431 ft³
- Maker’s breaker
- not stated
Listing cited: Not stated in the manual we checked [Harvia Spirit manual]
HUUM
- Sizes
- 4.5–9 kW
- Rooms
- 106–460 ft³
- Maker’s breaker
- 30–50 A
Listing cited: Cites EN 60335-2-53:2011 [HUUM Drop US manual]
Saunum
- Sizes
- 4.8–9.6 kW
- Rooms
- 106–424 ft³
- Maker’s breaker
- 30–50 A
Listing cited: UL 875 Ed. 9 and CSA C22.2 No. 164 [Saunum manual]
| Heater | kW | Room (ft³) | Amps | Maker’s breaker | Wire | Listing cited | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harvia Spirit 6 | 6 | 177–294 | 25 | not stated | 10 AWG | Not stated in the manual we checked | [Harvia Spirit manual] |
| Harvia Spirit 8 | 8 | 177–431 | 33.3 | not stated | 8 AWG | Not stated in the manual we checked | [Harvia Spirit manual] |
| HUUM Drop 4.5 | 4.5 | 106–248 | 18.75 | 30 A | 10 AWG | Cites EN 60335-2-53:2011 | [HUUM Drop US manual] |
| HUUM Drop 6 | 6 | 177–318 | 25 | 30 A | 10 AWG | Cites EN 60335-2-53:2011 | [HUUM Drop US manual] |
| HUUM Drop 7.5 | 7.5 | 248–389 | 31.25 | 40 A | 8 AWG | Cites EN 60335-2-53:2011 | [HUUM Drop US manual] |
| HUUM Drop 9 | 9 | 283–460 | 37.5 | 50 A | 8 AWG | Cites EN 60335-2-53:2011 | [HUUM Drop US manual] |
| Saunum Air 5 | 4.8 | 106–212 | 20 | 30 A | not stated | UL 875 Ed. 9 and CSA C22.2 No. 164 | [Saunum manual] |
| Saunum Air 7 | 6.4 | 177–282 | 26.67 | 40 A | not stated | UL 875 Ed. 9 and CSA C22.2 No. 164 | [Saunum manual] |
| Saunum Air 10 | 9.6 | 282–424 | 40 | 50 A | not stated | UL 875 Ed. 9 and CSA C22.2 No. 164 | [Saunum manual] |
Saunum model-to-kW pairing is inferred from the manual’s amp ratings. Prices by seller are in the price index. Checked Sep 23, 2026.
No. 2Questions
Which one, and which breaker?
Which is better, Harvia, HUUM or Saunum?
It depends on your room and your electrical service. HUUM Drop: 4.5–9 kW for 106–460 ft³ [HUUM Drop US manual]. Harvia Spirit: 6 and 8 kW for 177–431 ft³ [Harvia Spirit manual]. Saunum Air: about 4.8–9.6 kW for 106–424 ft³ [Saunum manual]. On listings, Saunum states UL 875 and CSA; HUUM’s US manual cites the European EN 60335-2-53. US codes call for UL 875-listed heaters, so confirm the listing with the seller.
Do Harvia, HUUM and Saunum heaters need the same breaker?
No. Around 6 kW, HUUM specifies 30 A for the 25 A Drop 6 while Saunum specifies 40 A for the 26.7 A Air 7. The code’s 125% rule points to 35 A or more for both. Harvia’s manual gives the current but no breaker size.
The Sanctuary Report